Skip to content

links for 2010-07-18

July 18, 2010
  • I'm appalled at this. I wish I'd heard of it sooner. The law requires getting a DNA sample as part of the booking process during arrest. Not after conviction. I believe DNA is helping "big brother." I recently heard about a new conviction based on familial similarities in a prisoner's DNA. I guess it means I'm skeptical about DNA, because solving cold cases and freeing innocent people is a good thing, but it just makes me squeamish. "The DNA Database Act, which was designated as House Bill 1403, authorizes North Carolina sheriff’s deputies to take cheek swabs from arrestees charged with violent felonies and felony or misdemeanor sex crimes. With its adoption, North Carolina became the 24th state to collect DNA upon arrest.

    DNA samples will be added to state and federal databases and can be compared to unidentified DNA from cold cases and new crime scenes."

Comments are closed.

