Skip to content

The Carpetbagger Report – The one-letter election

October 17, 2006
tags:

This is so true. I’m an unaffiliated voter, and in North Carolina, it means I pick my primary and the Democratic Party ignores me (its the candidates job to reach out to unaffiliated voters). The Republicans as a PARTY are corrupt criminals (I restrained myself, can you tell? :P). I have been volunteering for the local candidates and Democratic party, getting out the vote is so critical this year, this is the chance to regain our rights and make the government accountable.

From the CarpetBaggerReport
I know this has come up more than once, but when Paul Krugman tackles an issue, it adds a certain weight to the controversy at hand. And this week, with the elections just 22 days away, Krugman has a simple message: “[T]his is a one-letter election. D or R, that’s all that matters.”

I can appreciate why this may sound distasteful to some voters. The notion that party affiliation matters at least as much, if not more, than a candidate’s other qualities runs counter to the claim most voters make about their choices (“I vote for the person, not the party”). But as Krugman makes clear, “It’s hard to think of an election in which the personal qualities of the people running in a given district or state have mattered less.”

go read the rest:The Carpetbagger Report » The one-letter election

Comments are closed.

