Skip to content

Bullets and Bodies in Baghdad: The Untold Story – MSNBC.com

September 19, 2006

From MSNBC’s blog, [h/t Attytood] a terrible scene is described, that I believe to be a “typical” day in Iraq. Complete and total Civil War, hell even different Ministries of the Government are fighting shooting at each other! The entire post needs to be read to be believed, its truly tragic how we’ve destroyed this sovereign country. While the progress towards our own destruction continues just as inexorably.

The FPS officer glanced at my paperwork, told me to leave my crew at the checkpoint and to follow him inside. There I met with a commander of the morgue’s FPS platoon, a short man dressed in civilian clothes. He made a phone call to a higher-ranking official and said it was okay for us to film.

As I was walking back outside, gunfire erupted all around us. It turns out the Ministry of Health FPS had gotten into a firefight with nearby FPS officers from the Ministry of Electricity, which is not run by a al-Sadr supporter. Unfortunately, my crew was caught in the middle.

Firefight at the morgue
With bullets crackling overhead, I yelled at my crew to run towards me and take cover behind a concrete barricade. The Ministry of Health FPS also took cover behind our barricade and continued to fire at the Electricity FPS officers about 100 feet away.

One of the Health FPS officers near us was furiously firing a PKC machinegun and yelling, “I will kill every one of them. I will kill every one of those Sunni bastards.”

Bullets and Bodies in Baghdad – Blogging Baghdad: The Untold Story – MSNBC.com

Comments are closed.

