Skip to content

Who voted against renewing the Voters Rights Act?

July 21, 2006

Yesterday’s final vote in the U.S. House was 390 members in favor of renewing important provisions of the Voting Rights Act, and 33 members against. Most Republicans and all Democrats voted in support of renewal. Below is the list of the 33 members who voted against renewal:
Richard Baker (R-LA), J. Gresham Barrett (R-SC), Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD), Joe Barton (R-TX), Jo Bonner (R-AL), Dan Burton (R-IN), John Campbell (R-CA), Mike Conaway (R-TX), Nathan Deal (R-GA), John Doolittle (R-CA), John Duncan (R-TN), Terry Everett (R-AL), Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Trent Franks (R-AZ), Scott Garrett (R-NJ), Phil Gingrey (R-GA), Joel Hefley (R-CO), Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), Wally Herger (R-CA), Sam Johnson (R-TX), Steve King (R-IA), John Linder (R-GA), Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Gary Miller (R-CA), Charles Norwood (R-GA), Ron Paul (R-TX), Tom Price (R-GA), Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), Ed Royce (R-CA), John Shadegg (R-AZ), Thomas Tancredo (R-CO), William Thornberry (R-TX), Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)

h/t [Wampum]

McHenry is the Representative from the 10th Congressional District. And even more of a mouthpiece for Bush than Myrick or Dole. But this time, he didn’t vote the same as them. If you know anybody in the 10th Congressional District (basically from SC border of western Gaston Co, to the edge of Mooresville, and west to Catawba county, Avery and Mitchell counties) let them know about this, its appalling. Although, I’ve yet to see competitors for Myrick in my district (9th) and McHenry. Has anybody else heard anything??


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: